UK Honors Student Athletes At 2014 CATSPY Awards

UK Football Player Max Godby winner Community Service Award.
UK Football Player Max Godby winner of Community Service Award.

UK hosted the 12 annual CATSPY Awards, an award show honoring the athletic and academic achievements of UK student athletes and personnel, Monday at Memorial Coliseum.

The 2014 award show honored 28 overall student-athletes, coaches and assistants from six different teams.

Awards presented during the evening included Community Service, Wildcat Pride, Rookies of the Year, Bill Keightley “Assist” Award, Blue Heart, Scholar Athlete, Academic Team, Impact, Scratch, Supporting Role, Performance of the Year, Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year, Teams of the Year and Mr. and Ms. Wildcat

The major awards presented during the night were Mr. And Mrs. Wildcat awards given to athletes with achievements in athletics, academics and character and service.

The winner of Ms. Wildcat was women’s softball player Lauren Cumbess. Cumbess had a breakout season with a .323 batting average and a school record tying 13 home runs.

The winner of Mr. Wildcat was football player Avery Williamson. Williamson is an All-SEC linebacker and a prospect in the upcoming NFL draft.

Below is a complete list of 2014 CATSPY Award Winners:

Community Service Award:
Kastine Evans (Women’s Basketball)
Max Godby (Football) (Pictured above)

Wildcat Pride:
Women’s Swimming and Diving

Female Rookie of the Year:

Kelsey Nunley (Softball)

Male Rookie of the Year:

Julius Randle (Basketball)

Bill Keightley “Assist” Award:
Justin “Pemo” McKinley (Equipment Manager)

Blue Heart Award:
Josh Clemons (Football)
Ashley VanLandingham (Women’s Soccer)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year:
Lindsay Hill (Swimming)

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year:

Tyler Riggs (Men’s Soccer)

Female Academic Team of the Year:
Women’s Tennis Team

Male Academic Team of the Year:
Men’s Tennis Team

Mark Lane

Scratch Award:
Micheal Thomas (Baseball)
Grace Trimble (Women’s Tennis)

Supporting Role:
Griffin Joiner (Softball)
Alex Poythress (Men’s Basketball)

Heart of a Wildcat:
Tom Jomby (Men’s Tennis)

Female Performance of the Year:
Dezerea Bryant (Track)
Kendra Harrison (Track)

Jennifer O’Neill (Basketball)

Male Performance of the Year:
Connor Davis (Rifle)
Aaron Harrison (Basketball)
A.J.  Reed (Baseball)

Female Athlete of the Year:

Dezerea Bryant (Track)

Male Athlete of the Year:
Matt Hilenbrand (Cross Country/Track)

Coach(es) of the Year:
John Calipari (Men’s Basketball)
Edrick Floreal (M/W Track and Field)
Rachel Lawson (Softball)

Female Teams of the Year:
Women’s Track and Field

Male Teams of the Year:
Men’s Basketball
Men’s Tennis

Ms. Wildcat:

Lauren Cumbess (Softball)

Mr. Wildcat:

Avery Williamson (Football)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s