Seven inducted into Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame Tuesday

image (2)

Another year, another class inducted into the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame.

Tuesday saw seven journalists enter the Hall: Elizabeth Hansen, Mark Hebert, Dave McBride, Lee Mueller, Mike Phillips, Wes Strader and the late Hunter S. Thompson.

Hansen is most known for being the chair of Eastern Kentucky University’s Department of Communication. She also had stints in journalism education at the University of Kentucky, Iowa State University and the University of Southern Mississippi. Hansen has taught classes such as Community Journalism, Feature Writing and Writing and Selling Nonfiction at EKU.

Mark Hebert, the current director of media relations at the University of Louisville, spent a large portion of his career in radio and television news, especially at WHAS in Louisville. He was known for his political reporting and his fearlessness of asking blunt questions.

Currently the editor of the Ohio County Times News, Dave McBride is a staple in Kentucky community journalism.

Also on the print side of journalism is Lee Mueller, who was an Eastern Kentucky bureau reporter for the Lexington Herald-Leader.

Mike Phillips, also inducted, was an editor with the Kentucky Post/Cincinnati Post.

Wes Strader, a sports broadcaster, was Western Kentucky University’s play-by-play radio announcer for football and men’s basketball for 36 years. He still hosts a radio show in Bowling Green, Ky., about WKU athletics.

Perhaps most notably, Hunter S. Thompson was the inventor of gonzo journalism, and was inducted posthumously, as he passed away in 2005.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s